Hello Friday!

Memaw sneezes from the kitchen and every adult has a good giggle. “Too much pepper, mom?” I hear my daddy say, as he hands his mother a napkin to wipe her nose. “No, just enough.” She replies with a smirk. The same smirk my daddy had after making a smart comment…the same one I have graced across my lips. The smell of dinner simmering in the kitchen is now drenching the air of the front porch. I sip my sweet tea, and kick my legs as my Aunt Sue rocks us back and forth.

I was horribly indecisive as to what to write, and cook, for my first post. Do I make something a bit more advanced to show my audience how well I’m kitchen-literate? Do I start with a dessert? Then I heard Memaw’s voice in the back of my mind… “Keep it simple. Keep tradition.”. Soup beans, Kasandra style.

20170224_083709

RECIPE- Crock Pot Soup Beans

  • 3 – 15oz cans pinto beans (do not drain)
  • 4 strips thick cut bacon chopped
  • 1 small yellow onion diced
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp celery salt
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

Pour pinto beans into crock pot. DO NOT drain the beans. The liquid will thicken and make a great sauce. Add seasonings and stir. Add diced onion and chopped bacon then stir. Put on lid and cook for 4-6 hours. Can serve over rice, though I prefer it with cornbread.

 

 

Leave a Reply

